Lit Lovers

Historical and contemporary fiction, plus everything in between

  • Intimations

    “Just 30 and already being compared to Thomas Pynchon, Kleeman confirms her status with her latest: 12 deliciously unsettling short stories.” -O, the Oprah Magazine

    Learn more >> ADD TO CART
  • Commonwealth

    “… the emotional intelligence of Patchett’s storytelling here feels warmer and richer and more resonant than anything she’s done before.” -Entertainment Weekly

    Learn more >> ADD TO CART
  • Another Brooklyn

    “In Jacqueline Woodson’s soaring choral poem of a novel…four young friends…navigate the perils of adolescence, mean streets, and haunted memory in 1970s Brooklyn, all while dreaming of escape.” -Vanity Fair

    Learn more >> ADD TO CART
  • Moonglow

    Pulitzer Prize-winning author Michael Chabon delivers another literary masterpiece: a novel of truth and lies, family legends, and existential adventure—and the forces that work to destroy us.

    Learn more >> ADD TO CART
  • The Comet Seekers

    "Helen Sedgwick charts the paths of the cosmos and the human heart with unnerving intelligence and grace. This is a novel about the universe, yes, but also about spaces small and secret, the homes we make for ourselves, and what it means to stay.” -Leslie Parry

    Learn more >> ADD TO CART
  • The Terranauts

    An epic story of science, society, sex, and survival from one of the greatest american novelists today.

    Learn more >> ADD TO CART
  • Whatever Happened to Interracial Love?

    “From the first page you know you’re in the hands of an exceptional writer... Collins’ stories are passionate and light-footed, angry but also delicate. She’s deliciously funny. She speaks of the many-sided lives of black women with care and intelligence.” -Zadie Smith

    Learn more >> ADD TO CART
  • Dear Amy

    “Beautifully written, with a narrator who manages to be both vulnerable and fierce at the same time…. The breathtaking finale is the most exciting and terrifying thing I have read in a very long time.” -Elizabeth Haynes

    Learn more >> ADD TO CART
  • LaRose

    "Erdrich writes about reconnection and reconciliation with such purity and precision, she’ll crack your heart right open, then mend it with care and leave your whole soul singing with joy.” -Buzzfeed

    Learn more >> ADD TO CART
  • A House Without Windows

    A vivid, unforgettable story of an Afghan woman accused of murdering her husband, the American lawyer trying to free her, and the many women from all walks of life, who gather around her in prison.

    Learn more >> ADD TO CART
  • News of the World

    "...in the complex world that we live in, sometimes it’s nice to know who is wearing the white hats, and who is wearing the black hats, and to root for someone who—out of a sense of duty, and later, love--is doing something pure and good." - Amazon Book Review

    Learn more >> ADD TO CART
  • The Risen

    From the bestselling author of Serena, a suspenseful and evocative tale of two brothers whose lives are altered irrevocably by the events of one long-ago summer--and the secrets that surface decades later.

    Learn more >> ADD TO CART
  • Sweetgirl

    Sweetgirl works on so many levels, it’s difficult to know how to classify it... hilarious, heartbreaking and true, a major accomplishment from an author who looks certain to have an impressive career ahead of him.” -NPR

    Learn more >> ADD TO CART
  • 300 Days of Sun

    Deborah Lawrenson delivers another “escapist mix of mystery, romance and murder” (Wall Street Journal), transporting readers to a sunny Portuguese town with a shadowy past, where two women—four decades apart—work to uncover the dark secrets haunting its inhabitants.

    Learn more >> ADD TO CART
  • Heat and Light

    In the spirit of Don DeLillo’s Underworld...a greyhound of a novel; smart, sharp, hyper precise, and near incantatory in its momentum.” -Richard Price

    Learn more >> ADD TO CART
  • The Ramblers

    For fans of J. Courtney Sullivan, Meg Wolitzer, and Emma Straub, anabsorbing novel of three confused souls struggling to find themselves and the way forward in their lives, set against the spectacular backdrop of contemporary New York City.

    Learn more >> ADD TO CART
  • All Stories Are Love Stories

    “Not only a vivid and frightening tale about a devastating earthquake, it’s also a love letter to San Francisco and a compassionate and thoughtful look into its characters’ lives and secret hearts." -Eden Lepucki

    Learn more >> ADD TO CART
  • God Loves Haiti

    Told in the incandescent style of José Saramago and Roberto Bolaño, and reminiscent of Gabriel García Márquez’s hauntingly beautiful Love in The Time of CholeraGod Loves Haiti is an homage to a lost time and city, and the people who embody it.

    Learn more >> ADD TO CART
  • Not Just Jane

    Shelley DeWees weaves history, biography, and critical analysis into a rip-roaring narrative history's fabulous, yet mostly forgotten, female literary heritage. Rediscover Charlotte Turner Smith, Helen Maria Williams, Mary Robinson, Catherine Crowe, Sara Coleridge, Dinah Mulock Craik, and Mary Elizabeth Braddon.

    Learn more >> ADD TO CART
  • Wilde Lake

    An African-American man accused of rape by a humiliated girl.  A vengeful father.  A courageous attorney.  A worshipful daughter.  Think you know this story?  Think again. 

    Learn more >> ADD TO CART